//
you're reading...
Ageing Disgracefully

The Art of Ageing Disgracefully – Act 1

Not for mere mortals or the faint-hearted. In order to become a fully-fledged Disgraceful Ager, you have to be totally committed. Throwing caution to the wind is the new safety blanket. Caring less about what other people think; the alternative to giving a damn. And, finally (and arguably most importantly,) casting a fleeting glance at consequences totally replaces carefully weighing up the pros and cons.

My first Disgraceful Act was deciding to abandon my lifelong security blanket of living in London and flee to a new life in a new country. Now, this sounds fine, not at all disgraceful and, probably quite exciting. That is until you add in the mix the fact that I would be going solo; the minute my boys were in uni. The nay-sayers frowned upon this wanton abandonment of my 18-year-old-legally-adult-and-living-away-from-home-anyway-‘children’. I countered this with a simple response. It is my time now.

So, I embarked on filtering out countries where I would not live due to language, living standards, mosquitoes, strange/slimy insects and other factors, Eventually I settled on Canada. No idea why, never been there. I just felt that Canada in general and Vancouver in particular seemed like a good idea. The more I read about it, the more it appealed.

I’m visiting Vancouver fairly soon for the first time and with rose-tinted specs perched delicately at the end of my nose. Its the furthest that I have ever been away from my boys. More suitably Disgraceful Acts to follow.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “The Art of Ageing Disgracefully – Act 1

  1. Canada is supposed to be amazing! My brilliant friends visited and absolutely loved it, they are moving there soon.
    Can’t wait to hear more about your adventures!

    Posted by Circusmum | March 1, 2012, 8:16 pm

Leave a Reply

